NSW Government

Stronger Councils | Stronger Communities

City of Parramatta Council

The merger of Parramatta City*, The Hills Shire*, Auburn City*, Holroyd City* and Hornsby Shire* councils


New Local Government Area (LGA) boundaries and names are as proclaimed in proclamations made under the Local Government Act 1993 and published on the NSW Legislation Website on 12/05/2016. This plan has been prepared by reference to surveys recorded in the register of public surveys kept under section 7 of the Surveying and Spatial Information Act 2002.

On 12 May 2016 the Minister for Local Government, Paul Toole, announced the newly formed “City of Parramatta” Council.

City of Parramatta Council includes the following wards:

  1. Parramatta Ward
  2. Dundas Ward
  3. North Rocks
  4. Epping Ward
  5. Rosehill Ward

Stronger more efficient councils will work harder for residents and deliver better services and infrastructure like roads, parks, playgrounds and sporting facilities.

  • Each new council will receive up to $15 million to invest in community projects like junior sporting facilities, playgrounds and library or pool upgrades.
  • Each new council will receive up to $10 million to streamline administrative processes and cut red tape. (Unspent funds may be redirected to community projects)
  • Ratepayers, in new council areas, will have their rates protected against future increases, meaning they will pay no more for their rates than they would have under their old council for 4 years.

Elections for new councils will take place on 9 September 2017. Details of the new council are contained in the proclamation.

Key information about the new council:

Population: 215,725

Area (sq Km): 82

Number of Wards: 5

Number of councillors per ward: 3

Managing the implementation

An Administrator and Interim General Manager have been appointed to oversee the implementation of the new council through to the election.  

Name: Amanda Chadwick

Interim General Manager
Name: Greg Dyer 

For more information please call 1300 813 020 (This service is available 24/7)