NSW Government

Stronger Councils | Stronger Communities


On 12 May 2016 the NSW Government announced the formation of 19 new councils.

The proclamation of the new Bayside Council occurred on 9 September 2016, following the conclusion of legal action by Botany Bay City Council in the Court of Appeal.

This took the total number of new councils created in 2016 to 20.

Read the progress report outlining the achievements of these councils

On 27 July 2017, the Government announced council mergers currently before the courts will not proceed. 

  • Burwood, City of Canada Bay and Strathfield Municipal councils
  • Hornsby Shire and Ku-ring-gai councils
  • Hunter’s Hill, Lane Cove and City of Ryde councils
  • Mosman Municipal, North Sydney and Willoughby City councils
  • Randwick City, Waverley and Woollahra Municipal councils

The 20 new stronger, more efficient councils that have already been established will remain in place and are working harder for residents and delivering better services and infrastructure such as roads, parks, playgrounds and sporting facilities.

New councils have reported overall savings of more than $50 million between their establishment and March this year. This is almost three times more than original expectations.

Other benefits include: 

  • Each new council has received up to $15 million to invest in community projects like junior sporting facilities, playgrounds and library or pool upgrades.
  • Each new council has received up to $10 million to streamline administrative processes and cut red tape, with the option of redirecting unspent funds into community projects.
  • Ratepayers in new council areas will not experience rate rises as a result of mergers. They will pay no more for their rates than they would have under their old council for the next four years


Funding New Projects and Services

With the funding provided by the NSW Government new Councils have funded $216,361,189 community initiatives and major projects to provide better facilities, services and infrastructure.



All Projects Funded To Date



Major Projects



Rural Community Projects



Metro Community Projects

Media release

This website contains details on the process of the implementation of the new councils and further information that communities in affected areas may be interested in. 

Where an * is displayed next to a council name this means it is a part of that council area.